HomeBlogForumYahoo News UpdateCNN News UpdateBBC News UpdateFeedback


Go Down
Please try to comment after reading any article on this site. Please you can also post your own story here. Please don't be a GHOST READER. To see the trending forum topic move to the Front Page. Follow us on:
* samlak The league was founded in 1972 with six teams. On 12 May 1990 at theOnikanStadium Lagos, the league was rechristened the "Professional League" with a goal to modernize the game and make clubs self-sufficient.
Shooting Stars Sports Club of Ibadan, founded in 1950, is the oldest football club in the current Nigeria top league History.
The first Winners of the Nigerian Premier League was Mighty Jets of Jos. They won the title in 1972.
The team that emerges winners of the Nigeria Premier Football League, will be N80 million (more than $400,000) richer cumulative, according to the League Management Company (LMC). The winners of the league on final day of action will pocket N30 million.
In the 2010–11 season Jude Aneke of Kaduna United became the first player to score 20 goals in a season. The present best ever, though, is 2014 top scorer, Mfon Udoh of Enyimba with 23 goals.
After the 2006 competition, the league changed its calendar to more closely match the common European regular season structure (starting around August and ending around May).
The League Management Company was formed in 2012 to take over the affairs of the league following the collapse of the Nigeria Premier League organized by the Nigeria Football League (NFL).
In 2012 the NPL was ranked as the best in Africa and 24th best in the world by the IFFHS, the rating puts the NPL above the Scottish league for that year.
On May 2013,Lagosian telecommunications company Globacom signed a three-year contract with the league to become its title sponsor. Thus the league is now officially known as the Glo Premier League
In 2015, the League Management Company solicited financial support from the Government financially in order to "upgrade of existing grounds and provision of required broadcast equipment and facilities in the stadiumswhich as seen the likes of supersport covering some selected matches and broadcasting live on DSTV
Enyimba of Aba have been the most crowned kings of the NPL with seven(7) championship wins to their names with the most recent one coming in 2015.
Joetex Frimpong of Ghana is the only foreign player to have been crowned the highest goal scorer in the NPL and this happened in the year 2002 season where he scored a total of 16 goals for the season.
Teams Relegated from the Nigeria premier League are Relegated to The Nigeria National League.
2016-11-09 21:46 · Reply · (0)

Online: Guests: 1
Translate this page:
Today Hits:185
This Week Hits:185
This Month Hits:5898
Total Hits:695020
Last Modified: 2017-04-21 04:19
All rights reserved.
Disclaimer: Every Ncity member/guest is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Ncity.
Go Up